Dear ISIN members,

I hope you are all safe and in good health!

Today we would like to inform you about a fundamental step taken to officially register our society as a non-profit association. Founded in 2006 in Italy, the ISIN was considered to have its legal seat in Rome. After the laws changed there, our society had not been re-registered. The incorporation and registration of the ISIN was legally necessary after moving our secretarial office to The Netherlands. 
The new association is done in continuation of the old society and its name remains International Society of Intraoperative Neurophysiology (it can also act under the name ISIN). For you as member, the new legal status does not include any changes.


Numerous actions and effort by the ISIN board had been undertaken to realize the official registration as a non-profit association under Dutch law:
  1. Notary: Engagement of a notary to support the incorporation process and handle the registration at the Dutch Chamber of Commerce
  2. Board meeting: Online meeting in August 2020, where the whole ISIN board approved the planned steps, including an official voting on the elementary decisions about the society’s legal status, name, seat and performance of incorporation/ registration. All voting board members agreed on the above mentioned decisions.
  3. Bylaws: Writing and approval of the new ISIN articles with the guidance of the notary. You will find them on the ISIN website soon. Standing orders are under development and will also be shared shortly. 
  4. Incorporation and registration of the ISIN: Completed in September 2020. 
The ISIN board continues as elected in 2019 during the last General Assembly (GA) in Vienna, Austria. The team and I are extremely proud to have successfully managed above steps. Our resources can now be invested in educational activities and we have capacity to focus on setting up virtual events.

It is our pleasure to inform you that as ISIN member you automatically become part of the new association. Should you disapprove, you may raise objections during an extraordinary GA on two possible dates. Please register beforehand by using the meeting link. On Wednesday, 21 October at 15:00 CET/ 09:00 EST/ 22:00 JST (Meeting link) and on Wednesday, 21 October at 18:00 EST/ 07:00 JST (Meeting link) online meetings are set up for 1 hour to dial-in and indicate your concerns. For any questions, please reach out to info@gcb.nl.

We welcome you to the new ISIN and look forward to continue our collaboration.

Kind regards
Isabel Fernández-Conejero, MD
ISIN President
OCTOBER 2020
Please see the ISIN members corner for the recommended reading of the paper selected for October 2020.
Copyright © 2020 Groningen Congres Bureau*, All rights reserved.